Trust

trust2

I am willing to use my creative talents. A new affirmation for me. I’ve been writing the same affirmation(s) for several months now and felt like I needed to change to something that commits me to my creativity and to share it more and more. I’m trusting my creativity more and more each day. I can honestly say that I’ve watched my ego self sabotage the true essential self and her creativity with thoughts of “How do you expect anyone to read your book when there are so many books to read?” Ouch! Nasty Ego. I had to tell it to take a time out, that was a few weeks ago. I trust that my creativity is taking over and using me as the vessel to share the stories. Julia Cameron speaks about Faith and Trust of creativity:

Creativity requires faith. Faith requires that we relinquish control. This is frightening, and we resist it. Our resistance to our creativity is a form of self-destruction. We throw up road-blocks on our own path. Why do we do this? In order to maintain an illusion of control. Depression, like anger and anxiety, is resistance, and it creates dis-ease. This manifests itself as sluggishness, confusion, “I don’t know…” The truth is, we do know and we know that we know.

Face-of-Paris

Julia is so right about us knowing and we do know that we know. I know that I have slammed down a few road-blocks on my path, sometimes not knowing, but deep down I knew what I was doing. Like the thought of feeling sluggishness, confusion, if I feel tired or drained, it’s the ego playing tricks and I know that I’m being lazy towards the truth. What do I do? I admit that I’m distracted and the ego is bored, but the creativity is not bored or tired, it wants to push through the self-attack and get to the other side and really shine with the story it has to share.

writer

Each of us has an inner dream that we can unfold if we will just have the courage to admit what it is. And the faith to trust our own admission. The admitting is often very difficult. A clearing affirmation can often open the channel. One excellent one is “I know the things I know.” Another is “I trust my own inner guide.” Either of these will eventually yield us a sense of our own direction – which we will often then promptly resist! The truth is that we are meant to be bountiful and live. The universe will always support affirmative action. Our truest dream for ourselves is always God’s will for us. ~ Julia Cameron

It sounds simple right? Write down an affirmation and let the universe take over. For me, it is this simple. I truly believe that the universe is taking care of me when I send out the affirmation. Doors will open. Serendipitous events will occur, it starts with trust.

bliss

Mikey Hart’s (Greatful Dead drummer) hero and mentor, the late, great mythologist Joseph Campbell, wrote, “Follow your bliss and doors will open where there were no doors before.” It is the inner commitment to be true to ourselves and follow our dreams that triggers the support of the universe.

There is a path for each of us. When we are on our right path, we have a surefoodedness. We know the next right action – although not necessarily what is just around the bend. By trusting, we learn to trust.

leap of faith

As we work together on our own creativity, we must recognize these moments of trust and what they bring. Open that door that wasn’t there before. Leap off the mountain that wasn’t there before. As they say “Take that leap of faith.” I have taken a few of these leaps and have found myself exactly where I needed to be for that particular moment. I didn’t get on a plane to live with ex-boyfriend in Atlanta because deep down I knew we were not meant to be together. I stayed in Edmonton even though I knew wasn’t going to be there for long, and when I stayed right where I was, I met the man who swept me off my feet and he continues to do so. We left Edmonton within eight months of meeting and I am right where I am supposed to be. Here, on the page, writing.

journal

Trust your gut feelings, trust that creativity is speaking to you through little whispers and knocks at the door. I like the image of a guardian angel whispering “trust, this is it, one more step…” and we are listening, trusting; have the faith that the door we are about to answer might be just the one we need to open for this moment.

Until next time, keep on typing….

2012typewriter_girl

 

Leave a Reply

