Resistance

                                                                                                stary                                                                                                     Starry Night

As you know, I work a full time job to maintain this creative life and part of that job is carrier and personal growth. I am proactive by finding ways to grow my skills and experiences. One of them is listening to podcasts. I have a fifteen minute walk to work, so why not spend it getting prepared and setting the intention of the day. A successful day! One podcast in particular has been very helpful in my leadership skills: Coaching for Leaders is a weekly podcast on Wednesday’s with Dave Stachowiak, Host & Producer. They podcast’s are not long and very inspirational and informative.

podcast

Last week I was listening to episode 184: Getting things done and Dave Allen and he recommended a book to help break blocks, be it creative, personal, whatever it is you need to unblock. The War of Art, by Steven Pressfield, a 165 page book (5 x 8 in size) is in my reach as I type this. It took a few days to get in at the library and now I’m going to buy it because it’s one of the hose books you have on your book self, with highlighted sections of ‘a-ha’ moments. It’s simply smack-your-face-with-the-truth-and-shake-your-head-and-have-aha-moments amazing!

Resistance Quote 3

Without copying the entire book to share the great insights of Steven’s work, I encourage you borrow it from the library and just start reading. I was on page 57 within moments, but I find myself going back to those sections that have spoken loudly to me. The one part I do want to share with you because I’ve touched based on procrastination and I know that many of struggled with it at one time or another:

Procrastinator is the most common manifestation of Resistance because it’s the easiest to rationalize. We don’t tell ourselves, “I’m never going to write my symphony.” Instead we say, “I’m going to write my symphony; I’m just going to start tomorrow.” ~ Steven Pressfield

procrastination

So many times I’ve said this about my manuscript, “I’ll get it tomorrow…” and tomorrow’s turn into days, weeks and in a blink of an eye, years have gone by and you wonder what the hell happened? Now, I check in with myself to make sure that I’m spending time with my passion and if I’m not then I ask why, what was more important than being with the talent that has been given to me? There is no excuse and I make sure I get myself in front of the page and work. The funny thing is that it doesn’t even feel like work so why wouldn’t I want to write and work on my craft day in and day out. The War of Art is reminding me why; ego is resistance and when the ego is bored it will take a time out as resistance will. This little book has a very simple put powerful message, beat resistance and you have beat fear. What a novelty!

What are you resisting? How do you deal with the ego that whispers sweet resistance in your ear? Do you swat at it like a fly buzzing around or do you let it settle in? I have a big fly swatter for when resistance tries to crawl in when I’m not looking.

Until next time, keep on typing…

woman with type

Leave a Reply

