The Artist’s Way – Part 1

the-artists-way

I’ve been reviewing my posts and lately it seems that I’ve been referencing The Artist’s Way, by Julia Cameron a bit more each time I share with you. Maybe it’s time to talk about the The Artist’s Way. I won’t go chapter by chapter, maybe just some key points that have shown up a few times from time to time, key sub-chapters that have helped me push past the creative block, the ego that “thinks” too much. The artist within calls out more and more and I’m paying attention to her more and more.

woman-speaking-out-300x300

In Chapter two: Recovering a sense of identity, Julia begins the chapter with:

Trusting our creativity is new behavior for many of us. It may feel quite threatening initially, not only to us but also to our intimates. We may feel-and look-erratic. This erraticism is a normal part of getting unstuck, pulling free from the much that has blocked us. It is important to remember that a first flush, going sane feels like going crazy.

When I first was introduced to the Artist’s Way, I was working as a resort manager at a meditation retreat center. I was stuck in my story of trying to break free of my old behavior’s and trying to really commit to my writing. One night before an evening meditation group got together, I noticed the Artist’s Way book sitting on the bench with my name on it, a friend I just met left it for me, we had talked about Julia Cameron’s work briefly and I felt grateful for my friend thinking of me. I brought the book home and didn’t open it until three months later. The first moment I started to read Julia’s words about breaking the creative blockage I was hooked. I started to noticed my new behavior of trusting my creativity was a bit erratic, I was standing up for my creativity. I stopped wasting time, I was so used to filling up my time with things to do, but now I was spending time with my craft, investing time to improve my writing. I noticed that I felt like I was stuck in my old behavior when all I wanted to do was live the creative life. I knew I was on the right journey and continued with The Artist’s Way, twelve week program.

heart

Julia speaks about nurturing ourselves:

Be very careful of to safeguard your newly recovering artist. Often, creativity is blocked by our falling in with other people’s plans for us. We want to set aside time for our creative work, but we feel we should do something else instead…The essential element in nurturing our creativity lies in nurturing ourselves. Through self-nurturance we nurture our inner connection to the Great Creator. Through this connection our creativity will unfold. Paths will appear for us. We need to trust the Great Creator and move out in faith. 

I understand that I have been given this talent to tell stories, to write and now it’s time for me to give back to creativity. I desperately want to share every story that has been provided and I’m working very hard to make sure I get to the page and write. I don’t have to wait to write on my laptop or a certain time of the day (Even though mornings and late evenings work for me). I can write anywhere and the most important thing to me at the moment is to get the idea down on paper and go from there.

trust

Julia asks us to trust:

Trust you are on the right track. You are….You will learn to enjoy the process of being a creative channel and to surrender your need to control the result. You will discover the joy of practicing your creativity. The process, not the product, will become your focus. Your own healing is the greatest message of hope for others.  

I totally trust the process. Yes, it took some time to settle into the trust, but it’s always been there. I just needed to step out of my own way to let it happen. Sometimes I can sit down for hours and write but there are sometimes that I only write for twenty minutes and I am just as fulfilled. It’s an amazing process.

How is your process? What are you doing to get over the creative block?

Until next time, keep on typing…

type

3 thoughts on “The Artist’s Way – Part 1

  1. I need to pick up that book. It’s been on my reading list for quite some time. I can’t seem to find it when I’m at the bookstore.

    My creative process is erratic at best. I don’t have a set time to write, or a word quota to meet. I write until everything I want to write down is all on paper. I keep saying to myself that I’ll write every day, but never do. Maybe I’m burned out on writing, or am too scared to create something new for fear of rejection.

    But I’m working on the fear part. It takes time, like you said. I hope to pick up the book soon. I think it will help me to start pushing through the fear I have to write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

