More Creative U-turns

uturn

After the reading last week I witnessed myself wanting to do another reading right away and at the same time just perfectly fine with waiting for some time (maybe a month of two) to the next reading. Then the group of women I read with received an email from the organizer asking if we would like to read again that same week? I almost said I would, why not, keep practicing and keep sharing. Then I decided not to, I “thought” I needed to work and I thought it was a little soon to jump back in. Was this a creative U-turn? Maybe.

I think felt the need to re-read parts of the creative U-turn by Julia Cameron, she said:

Once we admit the need for help, the help arrives. The ego always wants to claim self-sufficiency. It would rather pose as a creative loner than ask for help. Ask anyway.

help

So, I asked for help and I did say I was open to the next time a reading presented itself, and within a few days we were asked to read again. I think I might have confused the universe and by saying no to the second reading I did a little u-turn that I am aware of, I’m not ignoring it, I am aware of what I’ve put out there, that I’ve asked for help and help arrived and I then turned it down.

Julia also says:

Faced with a creative U-turn, ask yourself, “Who can I ask for help about this U-turn?” Then start asking.

How do you face a creative U-turn? Are you facing a creative U-turn at the moment? How are you dealing with it?

How Julia Cameron suggests about blasting through blocks:

Remember, your artist is a creative child. it sulks, throws tantrums, hold grudges, harbors irrational fears. Like most children, it is afraid of the dark, the bogeyman, and any adventure that it’s safely scary. As your artist’s parent and guardian its big brother, warrior, and companion, it falls to you to convince your artist it is safe to come and (work) play.

calvin

It’s really is okay to come and work/play. I’m here to work and have fun with creativity! I have ideas swirling around and I also have a commitment to work on revisions on my manuscript, so I have to break down the day with goals. For an hour I’ll work on research for a blog, then start writing the blog, then another hour I’ll work on my manuscript, of course take a break between projects but not too much time, the ego will take over thinking “Oh, I’ve worked so hard in that hour that I can take a few hours off.” No, maybe ten minutes and then back to work – the manuscript is not going to edit itself.

pen

I’ve done a lot of work with the Artist’s Way, and through meditation, reading and writing I’ve come to terms with my creative child and let her play when she wants to play and then when she wants to hide in the corner I push her out of her comfort zone and keep going, that’s where the good stuff is, in the fear, the unknown – it gets exciting and I want to learn more about myself, more about the story that is lingering around.

How are you pushing your creative child? How do you push through the creative blocks?

Until next time, keep on typing…

typing

2 thoughts on “More Creative U-turns

  1. My creative child wants to push back sometimes, and I let it. I tell him it’s okay and that he doesn’t have to come out right now. In doing so, I am failing him by not letting him express himself. I think he can get scared about what’s out there and is afraid of getting hurt by people he admires. I need to tell him that he’s not going to be able to please everybody. There will be critics, even among people he loves.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing, you’re so right – the creative child needs a little nudge once and awhile. I recently received some feedback from a flash fiction submission and my creative child went running in the other direction. I had to tell her that it’s okay, it was our first time at flash fiction and maybe we stick with our short stories that we are comfortable with. She doesn’t know it, but I’m pretty sure we’ll try flash fiction again – haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

