Valentine’s Day – what does it mean to you?

stvaltitle

The history of Valentine’s Day–and the story of its patron saint–is shrouded in mystery. We do know that February has long been celebrated as a month of romance, and that St. Valentine’s Day, as we know it today, contains vestiges of both Christian and ancient Roman tradition.

While some believe that Valentine’s Day is celebrated in the middle of February to commemorate the anniversary of Valentine’s death or burial–which probably occurred around A.D. 270–others claim that the Christian church may have decided to place St. Valentine’s feast day in the middle of February in an effort to “Christianize” the pagan celebration of Lupercalia. Celebrated at the ides of February, or February 15, Lupercalia was a fertility festival dedicated to Faunus, the Roman god of agriculture, as well as to the Roman founders Romulus and Remus.

Did You Know? 

beevalentine

Approximately 150 million Valentine’s Day cards are exchanged annually, making Valentine’s Day the second most popular card-sending holiday after Christmas. (Thank you History.com) –

How do you tell your loved on you love them?

When I was younger I romanticized the boy who I had a crush on would all of a sudden fall in love with me on Valentine’s day, because I prayed to St. Valentine’s and cupid, and my crush would send me a Valentine’s card and some delicious chocolates. My father always bought my mother her favorite flowers; a dozen yellow roses and some chocolate, even when he was away at sea some how the yellow roses appeared to say I love you. This was romance in our house, this is what I was brought up on, romance and this was my expectation. Well, when you are married to someone whose birthday is on Valentine’s day everything about the most romantic day changes.

my_valentine

My husband was born on the most celebrated day of love, and he gets lost in the Hallmark holiday, so it’s my job to make it all about his day, to celebrate him and let me tell you that at the beginning I was not happy about this. I was a zombie, fixated on the day of love, nothing else mattered, as long as I got that little chocolate heart or cute little Valentine’s card then I was okay. But suddenly I was faced with reality, it was not just about me anymore. Now, on Valentine’s day I make sure that he is taken care of, be it make him breakfast in bed, surprise him with a trip away, take him out to dinner; it’s simply just acknowledging his day.

So how do you celebrate your Valentine’s day? Do you have any traditions? Favorite stories? I’d love to hear from you.

Until next time, keep on typing…

ty

Leave a Reply

