Going Strong

125 days on my no chocolate challenge! Amazing, that I once addicted to chocolate have gone so long without the delicious sweetness of chocolate. I’m feeling pretty good about myself these days.

happy

The other day I ordered an assortment of cookies and goodies for a staff meeting. What came on the large platter? An assortment of double chocolate cookies, chocolate macaroons and chocolate fudge squares…along with some lemon squares and oatmeal raisin cookies. When I first say the platter I was completely fine, I enjoyed the zesty lemon square as I watched other pick up the chocolate squares. I did watch the ego twitch a little, but I had self-control and focused on the meeting agenda.

After the meeting I took the platter to the employee room for other to enjoy and I was face to face in the elevator with the last chocolate macaroons and I witnessed the ego whisper like a little devil on my ear, “no one is watching, come on you know how good it’s going to taste.” Honestly for one split moment I wanted to shove the chocolate into my mouth just to taste the familiar luscious dark chocolate. I blinked the crazy urge of chocolate and like some crazed animal (I picture animal from the Muppet’s) running with the platter to get rid of it, out of sight out of mind.

scared

The moment has passed and I’m proud of myself for one more day without chocolate. I will be giving up red wine for a while as well, I know you must be thinking “What is wrong with this woman!?” believe me I’ve been asking myself the same thing. Truthfully, the last few weeks when I’ve had red wine I will get congested after a few sips and then by the end of the glass I will be so stuffed up and sneezing that I can’t bare it any longer. I have done some research on red wine and sinuses and it’s a common reaction so I’m not alone, does anyone else have a similar reaction to red or white wine? How are you dealing with is?

one-blessed-lady

Now, it’s a new day and I haven’t had any alcohol for three days and I feel refreshed, and I really don’t have any urges to drink red wine as I know what might happen and I would rather play it safe then have painful sinus congestion for a day or two. It’s all a part of growing up and taking the steps to take care of yourself. I want to take care of this body I’m very grateful for where the body has taken me and is taking me. What a blessing!

What are you doing to take care of your body? Do you go to the gym or work out at home? What is your favorite healthy recipe, tip, saying, intentions? I’d love to hear from you.

Until next time…keep on typing.

typing-450px

 

Leave a Reply

