Fairy Godmothers and Goals

2015 Leap

It’s 11 days into the New Year and I’m leaping into 2015 with process of goal setting. I’ve sat in on webinars on how to set specific writing goals, what do I want to work on this year; then I recently just watched a video from Natalie Macneil, She Takes On the World. It’s very simple and feeds my creative side. I love to write down my goals and I really enjoy creating vision boards; Natalie’s approach to goal setting has best of the both writing and creating a vision board. Here is what she has to say:

I downloaded the ‘Bigger Picture’ goal setting sheets and sat down and wrote out my five milestones for each goal, and then I made a list of what is needed to be done each day, each week to complete my goals. One of my goals is to blog more, I am trying to write one or two blogs a week. I have committed to research the topic I want to blog about throughout the week and then write the blog on Sunday and post on Monday. Why am I telling you this, because it’s one of my milestones is to share my goals, to share that I am committed and really want to walk the talk. As they say, Actions speak louder than words.

actions

I want my integrity to be part of who I am, I want to answer yes when someone ask’s “Do you have joy in your life?” I want to be true to myself the creativity that has been given to me.  If some of my blogs are brief one week and longer the next, that’s okay. I want to commit to this goal of writing everyday in some format and not lose sight of the bigger picture.

The main goal for 2015 is to get my book published, the milestones have been set and I’m working on the first one today, to fill in the gaps of the story, I know I’ve left some chapters unfinished because I was keeping things at a distance…. well there is no hiding in memoir, so I have to get my head out of my ass and get on with it or leave it and move on. I have to be diligent with myself or I won’t get anything done.

Woman-smelling-steaming-c-007

It’s funny, at work I am pretty organized and I get projects completed in a timely fashion; so I have to take my writing career just as serious. I’ve been given a talent to tell stories and I’ve been procrastinating, waiting for my fairy godmother to show up and biddi boddi boo my novel on a silver platter. (Disney’s Cinderella was one of my favorite stories when I was a child.)  I have to tell myself to wake up and smell the coffee! I have to be my own fairy godmother, I have to find my magic that was kidnapped by my ego.

fairy

Now, it’s time to use that magic that has been given to me, put the words down on the page and get the job done. I really have no excuses, only procrastination and the thought (that’s the ego) that I can do it tomorrow. The hell with that! How about right now, this is the only moment we really have and I don’t want to waste it on watching reruns of Friends. (Even though it was a great show in its time.)

Okay, enough of the soap box rant, but you get my point, you have to be your own cheerleader sometimes. I am committed to not wasting any more time on procrastination and will live each day with intention, and at the very least to work through my list of the day to ensure I’m following through with my goals – I deserve it and so do you!

Do you have goals for 2015? What are the steps are you taking to make those goals come alive? I’d love to hear from you!

Until next time my friends….keep on Bibbibi Bobbidi Boo’in

type

 

One thought on “Fairy Godmothers and Goals

Leave a Reply

