Happy Thanksgiving

Happy-Thanksgiving-Day-Pic-26

The Canadian Thanksgiving has been celebrated on the second Monday in October since 1957. It’s a time to celebrate the good harvest of the year and for the many other things in life to be thankful for.

We celebrated Thanksgiving last night with family, we made a roast beef dinner and shared great food, wine and company! I am very thankful to have family come together and just connect. Traditionally people make a turkey dinner, but this year we thought we’d change it up, keep things fun and interesting.

Thanksgiving 2014

My partner, me and Uncle K, 2014

I thought I would use this time to list the things over the year that I have been thankful for. There are so many so I will try to keep it brief, but as a writer that might be difficult, we tend to be a little long-winded at times.

I am Thankful for:

  • My health – I’m so grateful for this healthy and able body that has brought me this far in this life. I must respect this body by fueling it with healthy foods and water to maintain its stability.
  • My home – It’s four walls with a roof that provides shelter and a place to sleep, to come together with friends and family. Home is wear the heart is, and my heart beams with joy regarding our home.

home

  • My family – I love my partner, we’ve been together for over 12 years and we are our own family of two. I am grateful for my cousin and uncle-in-law who live in the same city – it’s nice to have family close. Our immediate families live in the east coast and I’m so grateful for the phone to connect with them, and face-time and texting. Technology is great to connect with friends and family.
  • My job – I am so grateful for this great opportunity that is maintaining this creative life that is fully intended. My job is very creative. I meet so many new people on a daily basis that fulfill my creative pool for possible new characters, scenarios; the things they say I can’t make up.
  • Meditation – I am so grateful for the stillness of mediation, to just be right here and now. So grateful for the practice of meditation that was and is being shared with me. It’s a daily practice, the more you do it, the more it works. I have a few forms of meditation, morning pages, walking, running, and the traditional sitting and watching the breath, the thoughts, and all of a sudden it’s still and there is nothing…but now.
  • Morning Pages – I mentioned them during mediation. Morning pages come from Julia Cameron’s, The Artist’s Way, and I’ve mentioned them in previous posts. You simply sit down as soon as you wake up, write three long hand pages of whatever it is on your mind. Julia calls it a brain dump, what do I need to get for dinner tonight, why did I say that last night, why did he say that last night? Should’ve started the dishwasher last night, I think I eat too much chocolate, I want to lose ten pounds, I need to keep writing… Just write whatever it is that comes up. I’ve been writing morning pages for over five years and I’ve left a job to write my first novel that is still in the editing process, I’ve moved to Victoria on blind faith. Morning pages speak clearly to me what I need to do to take the next step on this great journey of life.  – Okay I’m dwelling on this topic, but it’s my favorite one to talk about, to share because they work!

feather

  • My creativity – I have been given this gift of creativity – my imagination is always on. I love to tell stories, all I crave to do is to create, to tell the stories that are being whispered to me.

These are the main themes in my life that I am grateful for. Every day is a blessing and we should be waking up with joy to be alive! To accept today’s gifts that are being provided to us to learn, to share, to be. Today I am grateful to be sitting at my favorite table in my favorite coffee shop drinking tea and writing. It’s not too busy on this holiday Monday, but the same people arrive and leave during their morning routines.

What are you thankful? I’d love to hear from you.

Until next time, keep on typing….

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

