Inspiration

What does inspiration mean to you? Who inspires you? What inspires you?

A few definitions from merriam-webster

in·spi·ra·tion

noun \ˌin(t)-spə-ˈrā-shən, -(ˌ)spi-\

: something that makes someone want to do something or that gives someone an idea about what to do or create : a force or influence that inspires someone

: a person, place, experience, etc., that makes someone want to do or create something

: a good idea

All of the above is how I define inspiration. I’ve been holding back on my goals and one of them was to share more, share more of my writing and I have been sharing from time to time; however when I created this website/blog I wanted to share to friends and family and so far I only have linked this site to my twitter and Linkedin account, so here I go and take that leap of faith that I talk about so much with others and watch them take the steps but I seems to be standing at the edge of the cliff looking down waiting for a push. I have to push myself! It’s time to walk the talk in all avenues of this great journey I’m on. We are all on…

girl

A little back ground about me

I went to a ten-day silent meditation retreat in Asheboro, North Carolina. My teacher, A Ramana asked a question that I have to remind myself of daily; Are you sick and tired of being sick and tired and Who wants to suffer? I joke with people when I ask these questions, I refer to a vision that I see a little kid holding his arm up saying “me-me, oh-me I want to suffer.” I picture Calvin and Hobbs for reason…

I definitely don’t want to suffer and every day I make sure that I’m taking the steps to live a creative life that I have fully intended. So, why the question of inspiration today? Well I have to honor those who inspire me to keep moving forward. So many people I know inspire me, my parents, my mother for living with chronic pain every day of her life since she was twelve and she still gets up every day and smiles, and so grateful to be alive. She might be feel like shit but as least she tells you if she’s having a good day or not. My father inspires me as well; he gets up every day and kisses my mother and goes about his day, they tell each other they love one another more than just once a day, it’s very loving, and instills love is still alive. There are so many other stories about these two individuals, that’s another post.

Who Inspires Me

The reason I started this website/blog is to share. Share my stories, random thoughts that might spark inspiration for me and for you or a conversation between people, to connect, to be.

The other person that inspires me is my cousin, Kelly; Kelly is an amazing woman who has transformed her body, mind and spirit in the past few years. We were never that close when we lived in Ontario, I only knew her when we played together at my grandparents farm-house, or a handful of times over the years. The one time I remember her is during a hurricane when we were living in Kingston. I remember my aunt picking us up and taking us to their house because they had a basement and we didn’t. My father was away at the time and my mother didn’t drive (and she doesn’t). I remember Kelly just be calm and funny, she told me jokes while I worried about if the hurricane would rip apart their house and we would be taken away like Dorothy and maybe end of up in OZ. The one thing that I do remember is Sean, Kelly’s older brother going outside and standing in the middle of the road waiting for the hurricane to pass by. We watched him through the basement window, I saw his legs and his hands on his hips just waiting. Kelly was upset because she wanted to go outside as well, but she had to take care of me. I kinda wanted to go outside as well, but I stayed put because my mother would’ve been mad if I disobeyed her. Yes, it was a hurricane and I understand the dangers and why mothers would want to protect their children, but still it would’ve been cool to feel the energy of such a natural phenomenon. The hurricane pretty much passed by Sean and he was untouched, the trees around him were rip out by their roots, but he stood there untouched. Silently I cheered inside, I was eight and I really didn’t know how to express myself.

field

After that day, I didn’t really see Kelly, we moved back to Nova Scotia and Kelly and her family stayed in Ontario for a few more years, then BC then Winnipeg. I interviewed her on the Wise Women Network that I write for from time to time, I wanted to share her story, her inspiration. We reconnected on Facebook a few years ago and now we chat and stay connected via Facebook posts and messages. She inspires me to keep living my passion. She is a mom, a business owner, a personal fitness coach, she is constantly working on her personal growth and every day I see how she pushes herself and us to do one more push up to take a leap of faith and do what you love. That really inspires me.

What inspires you? Who inspires you? I’d love to hear from you. I’ll keep writing and sharing, I now use my calendar for a commitment to sit down and work on this site, to share. This is my goal and I want to follow through, walk the talk. Live the creative life.

Until next time; keep on typing….

Leave a Reply

