Passion

passion

What is your passion? Do you have joy in your life? What does joy mean to you? How does your passion, joy, love feel to you?

These are the questions I ask myself when I haven’t really written anything in a few days, or I am consumed with other projects, things at work, life in general.

Fear or no fear?

After the playwright workshop and the cabaret I felt like a weight was lifted off my shoulders, like I said “wow, that was fun and I don’t have to be afraid any more.” Afraid of what was my next question…deep down I was afraid to be praised, afraid that no one would like the scene, afraid of actually finishing something and following through because then I would have to take the next step and that was scary to me even though I plaster my morning pages of being ready for the next step of my creativity. This is me, the real me, I am right here on the page and sharing what is going on in this creative mind of mine.

I struggle with my work life and my writing life and always say that I am a writer who works in a hotel. I’ve expressed this before where sometimes it’s the other way around at times. Don’t get me wrong, I am so grateful for my job, this great opportunity that has been provided to maintain and continue the creative life that is fully intended (another statement that fills my morning pages).

I really love my job at the hotel, after 20 years or more in the business I’ve finally found what I love to do within the hotel world, or what I like to call it; the hotellife. My job provides me with a roof over our heads, food in the fridge and everything else is a bonus. My job also gives me something more, great ideas for stories, believe me there are stories in every hotel, did I ever tell you about the one night we restrained from putting a half a hit of acid in the soup of the day pot? Instead of all of us losing our jobs, one of the servers took it at the end of the night and served guests high as a kite (well they thought they were a kite at least). This is what I’m talking about, great stories provided by the #hotellife.

GOALS

desk

I’ve set a new goal for myself – to write at least 500 words a day – no excuses. This does not include morning pages, it has to be on what I’m working on, a short story, finishing my play, or on my book. I’m telling you to make it real, to tell you that I’m committed and you can ask me if I’ve written my 500 words on any given day – please do, ask away! Do you have a goal you would like help with? That’s what we’re all here for, to support our passions by being accountable for what we commit too. It sounds simple, but at the same time very scary to put yourself out there – no excuses!

Now I better get writing; until next time ~ keep on typing…

Leave a Reply

