The struggle with writing….

writer

Sometimes I can sit down and for hours I can write the day away. The practice of writing can be so easy at times, and I’m in my spiritual gap when I write. Sometimes I can write for ten minutes and it feels like time has stopped and I’m at peace, just in my world of writing, either long hand or typing away as fast as my fingers will type. Then… there are times where I sit down to write, want to work on a chapter, or project an idea I had but nothing comes. My head is filled with other stuff and I can’t seem to clear the mind of wandering thoughts that pass by so quickly.

A writer friend of mine once asked me to write about the struggle of writing, what are the obstacles of writing? Well, my obstacles, when it comes right down to it, it’s me – I’m in the way. The ego laughs as it holds onto it’s old behaviour’s of not really wanting to move forward with life. Sure, the ego fantasize about writing, becoming successful, thinking it can write the best damn screenplay ever, but guess what ego – you have to sit your ass down and write, write, write and write some more when you “think” there is nothing left.

“The realization that stopping a piece of work just because it’s hard, either emotionally or imaginatively is a bad idea. Sometimes you have to go on when you don’t feel like it.” ~ Stephen King, from, On Writing

Can you image if Stephen King said “Oh I don’t feel like finishing this story about this dog.” Kinda puts in perspective for me.

I could go into a song and dance on why I didn’t write during some periods of my life, but that’s a whole different story. Let’s just say it was over romantic relationships, the story of my life, and I’m sure the story for many people. I could list, lists of why I thought I didn’t have time to write, or this or that, bring out the excuse rolodex – I’m sure we all have a few of those locked up in a closet. I’ve thrown out my key to that closet and want to keep it that way, and as I sit here and type away, I realize I’m writing and that’s all that matters.

Keep on writing my friends…

 

Leave a Reply

